What Are the Creative Climate Awards?

The Human Impacts Institute’s Fifth Annual Creative Climate Call for Artists brings together the visual arts, performance art, and film to install climate-inspired public works throughout New York City.

Our Creative Climate Awards use the creative process as a tool to inspire audiences to explore the consequences of their actions, think critically about pressing issues, and to make the environment personal.  These events are an opportunity to creatively engage tens-of-thousands of people in positive action around the challenges posed by climate change, while having your work seen by our judges—some of the top artists, curators, and international leaders in the world.

For 2015, we welcome artists and artists’ collectives working in the following disciplines: 2D work, performance, and short film (up to 15 minutes).

Learn more and start your submission today>>

Take a Look at Past Works>>

This Year’s Competition

Call to Artists:   2D work, short films (up to 15 min), and performance pieces

that “make climate personal and practical” for the

Creative Climate Awards

Developed by:   The Human Impacts Institute (HII)
Cash Prizes:   First place: $2,000 and more TBA! sponsored by TECO in NYC
Submissions:   Only online submissions accepted here:

Creative Climate Awards Submissions>>

More information at HumanImpactsInstitute.org

Deadline:   No later than 11:30pmMonday, June 15th
Events Dates:   Opening Party: Monday, September 21st

Exhibit and Performances: Sept 21st-Oct 22nd

Closing Awards Party: Monday, October 22nd

Past Judges

Maureen Sarro, Owner, Fitzroy Gallery; Saisha Grayson, Assistant Curator of feminist art, The Brooklyn Museum; Brian Tate, President, The Tate Group/Co-Founder, Curate NYC;

Randy Olson, Filmmaker, author of “Don’t Be Such a Scientist”, and science-story coach;

Brice Lalonde, former Environment Minister of France“No Impact Man” Colin Beavan, writer;  John Fiege, filmmaker; Lana Wilson filmaker and Film and Dance Curator, Performa; Michael Nieling Owner, Creative Director, Ocupop and Professor, Milwaukee Institute of Art and Design.